Bill No. XV of 2016

THE CONSTITUTION (AMENDMENT) BILL, 2016

A

BILL

further to amend the Constitution of India.

 $\ensuremath{\mathsf{BE}}$ it enacted by Parliament in the Sixty-seventh Year of the Republic of India as follows:—

1. This Act may be called the Constitution (Amendment) Act, 2016.

Short title and commencement.

- 2. It shall come into force with immediate effect.
- 5 **3.** In the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution,—

Amendment of the Eighth Schedule.

- (i) The existing entries 9 to 21 shall be renumbered as entries 10 to 22 respectively and before entry 10 as so renumbered the following entry shall be inserted, namely:—
 - "9. Kodava"

(ii) after entry 22 as so renumbered, the following entry shall be inserted, namely:—

"23. Tulu.";

(iii) entry 22 shall be renumbered as entry 24.

STATEMENT OF OBJECTS AND REASONS

The Eighth Schedule to the Constitution includes twenty-two languages as national languages which are widely spoken and written by our people. It is presumed that it is around these languages that the education, culture and intellectual pursuits of our people grow and flourish.

But two such languages seeking Constitutional recognition are "Kodava" language of Kodagu region of Karnataka and "Tulu" which is spoken by a large number of people in Udupi and South Canara Districts of Karnataka. There has been a long-standing demand from the Kodavas and above stated region to include their native languages in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution.

Both of these languages fulfil all the criteria for inclusion in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution. Kodava language has a great heritage and history which is widely spoken in the Kodagu region from where great soldiers of our nation like Field Marshal Cariappa and General Thimmaiah hailed and who grew up speaking Kodava language.

For the promotion of literacy and the development of these languages, it is necessary that they are included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution.

Hence, this Bill.

B.K. HARIPRASAD

ANNEXURE

EXTRACT FROM THE CONSTITUTION OF INDIA

EIGHTH SCHEDULE

[Articles 344(1) and 351]

Languages

1. Assamese.	
2. Bengali.	
3. Bodo.	
4. Dogri.	
5. Gujarati.	
6. Hindi.	
7. Kannada.	
8. Kashmiri.	
9. Konkani.	
10. Maithili.	
11. Malayalam	
12. Manipuri.	
13. Marathi.	
14. Nepali.	
15. Oriya.	
16. Punjabi.	
17. Sanskrit.	
18. Santhali.	
19. Sindhi.	
20. Tamil.	
21. Telugu.	
22. Urdu.	

RAJYA SABHA

A BILL

further to amend the Constitution of India.

(Shri B.K. Hariprasad, M.P.)